DVSA earned recognition: vehicle operator standards

The standards that vehicle operators need to meet to join the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) earned recognition scheme.

Applies to England, Scotland and Wales



These documents are for vehicle operators and DVSA earned recognition auditors. The documents show:

  • the standards you need to meet
  • how you’ll be assessed
  • the evidence you’ll need
Published 20 July 2020
Last updated 235 JuneAugust 2022 + show all updates
  1. HS2 module audit standards: DVSA earned recognition: Added new section 'Use a sign when you visit an HS2 site (HS2 module operators only)' about purchasing HS2 site signs.

  2. Updated audit standards for heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) and public service vehicles (PSVs).

  3. Updated criteria 3.10.3 in 'Heavy goods vehicle (HGV) operator audit standards: DVSA earned recognition' and 'Public service vehicle (PSV) operator standards: DVSA earned recognition' because operators can use manual maintenance systems from 1 April 2022.

  4. Added audit standards for new London Power Tunnels (LPT2) module.

  5. Replaced PDF versions of audit standards with HTML versions

  6. First published.